The Manitoulin Planning Board was created by the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing under the Planning Act. The Board is composed of 10 members representing eight municipalities and two unincorporated townships on Manitoulin, and is supported by two full-time and one part-time staff members.

Our office hours are 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday to Friday.

The Planning Board’s responsibilities include administration of the Official Plan for the Manitoulin Planning Area, implementation of the Zoning By-law for the unincorporated Townships of Dawson and Robinson, the review and approval of applications for land division (Consent and Subdivision), and other tasks under the Planning Act.

 In addition to the foregoing applications, the staff provide planning assistance and information to all Member Municipalities, the Province, and to the general public and assist with other planning applications e.g. municipal zoning by-law amendments.